Login  | Sign Up

Skip Navigation Links
Youngsters need to understand the purpose of life. They need courage and wisdom to face the challenges of life. With this understanding they will become the light of the world. If we care for them responsibly, moulding their whole character with love, then the future of the world will be safe.”   ~ Amma

As per Amma's instructions the Amrita Bala Kendra has been designed to include a variety of spiritual topics such that the children are immersed in fun, engaging, educational activities that are based in Amma's teachings.


The Mahabharata claims all-inclusiveness at the beginning of its first parva ("book"): "What is found here, may be found elsewhere. What is not found here, will not be found elsewhere."

 Hand of values 

This is a long-term project for the application of values, called the Hand of Values.  A hand is made up of five fingers connected by the palm.  Each finger extends outward from the palm. And yet when looking at the hand one could argue that all the fingers end in the palm.  In the same way, the five principal values of sathya, dharma, shanti, prema, and ahimsa are both expressions of the other values, as well as the basis for them.  What does that mean really?  Let us examine this in further detail.  


Learn spiritual values

Charitable activities such as nursing home visits, fund raising etc.

Shlokas and Bhajans

Interacting with nature - tree planting, picnics etc.

Malayalam lessons

Arts and Crafts

Distinguished Guest

According to literary scholarship, the main body of the Ramayana first appeared as an oral composition somewhere between 750 to 500 BC.

An Old Cherokee Story: 

One evening an old Cherokee told his grandson about a battle that goes on inside people.

He said, “My son, the battle is between 2 “wolves” inside us all.”

“One is Evil. It is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false-pride, superiority, & ego.”

“The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, faith, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, & compassion.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute & then asked, “Grandfather, which wolf wins?”

The old Cherokee simply smiled, looked lovingly at his grandson and responded, “The one you feed.”

So let us feed the Good wolf by practicing joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, faith, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, & compassion

Copyright © Amrita Bala Kendra Dallas 2009